How Do You Drink Your Tea?

• So many newbies lately! Here is a very important PSA about one of our most vital content policies! Read it even if you are an ancient member!

RiverNotch

any pronouns
Original poster
FOLKLORE MEMBER
Invitation Status
  1. Look for groups
Part two of a four part series on HOT DRINKS.

As I mentioned before, some days I drink coffee, other days I drink tea. Both, I prepare rather fussily, but the fussiness of coffee is more technical, whereas all the methods of tea preparation I know involve few hard numbers. I would describe how I prepare my coffee as a process, but for tea -- or, at least, for the tea we currently have -- what I perform is more like a ritual or a ceremony. Coffee involves science; tea is an art.

The tea we currently have labels itself as "Young Hyson", though I'm not experienced enough to confirm this. For instruments, aside from those involved in measuring or in heating, I keep a pot and at least two cups. The leaves are steeped multiple times, with one cup used exclusively to measure and, if necessary, cool the water by swirling. Both coffee and tea take about fifteen minutes to prepare, but with coffee, I have to do much of that standing up, intently watching over all that I do; with tea, so long as I have some sort of timekeeping device, I can sit down and just....do something else. I can think.

Coffee seems to embody the active life, while tea well-made embodies the contemplative. This is reflected even in their tastes, with the darkest of pu'erhs punching softer than the lightest of roasts. And, when prepared as a craft -- that is, when I make them with ingredients other than grounds/leaves and water, or through methods other than percolating/infusing -- I typically have an easier time with tea.